Graduate School

Graduate training in Biophysics at MSU is possible via the following programs:

All programs expect strong academic performance at the undergraduate level, highly value previous research experiences, and require a high level of proficiency in spoken and written English for non-native applicants.

In most programs, students initially arrive without commitment to a specific research group and may not choose an advisor until completing research rotations, but direct admission to a specific group is possible for exceptionally motivated students.

Graduate students in the above programs are generally supported by either teaching or research fellowships. However, eligible students are strongly encouraged to apply for prestigious external fellowships.

Please send email to biophysics@pa.msu.edu to discuss which graduate program may be the best fit for you or contact specific faculty.

Current Students

Name Program Group Email
Basma Al-Masraf DO/PhD Jens Schmidt almasra3@msu.edu
Courtney Bingham Chemistry James Geiger bingha32@msu.edu
David Broadbent DO/PhD Jens Schmidt broadbe7@msu.edu
Ishita Chandra Chemistry Heedeok Hong chandr84@msu.edu
Maggie Conway Chemistry Denis Proshlyakov conway14@msu.edu
Nicholas DeVito Chemistry James Geiger devitoni@msu.edu
Thomas Dixon CSME Alex Dickson dixonth1@msu.edu
Nona Ehyaei Chemistry James Geiger ehyaeino@msu.edu
Nathan Frantz Chemistry Denis Proshlyakov frantzn4@msu.edu
Emily Groth Chemistry Denis Proshlyakov grothemi@msu.edu
Duwage Gunasekara Chemistry Heedeok Hong gunasek3@msu.edu
Caitlyn Herr BMB Robert Hausinger vangeld6@msu.edu
Donghee Hoh CMB David Kramer hohdongh@msu.edu
Eziz Kuliyev Chemistry Jian Hu kulyyeve@msu.edu
James Lennon CSME Alex Dickson lennonj1@msu.edu
Yan Levitsky DO/PhD Denis Proshlyakov levitsk2@msu.edu
Sam Lotz BMB Alex Dickson lotzsamu@msu.edu
Shaima Muhammednazaar Chemistry Heedeok Hong shaimamu@msu.edu
Hadi Nayebi Gavgani Chemistry James Geiger nayebiga@msu.edu
Isaac Osei-Bonsu Plant Biology David Kramer oseibon2@msu.edu
Keshav Prahalad Chemistry Heedeok Hong prahalad@msu.edu
Manoj Rana Chemistry Heedeok Hong ranamano@msu.edu
Joel Rankin BMB Robert Hausinger rankinj6@msu.edu
Elise Rivett BMB Eric Hegg rivettel@msu.edu
Md Rokonujjaman Chemistry David Weliky rokonujj@msu.edu
Nicole Roussey BMB Alex Dickson roussey1@msu.edu
Jason Schrad BMB Kristin Parent schradja@msu.edu
Allison Stettler Chemistry Denis Proshlyakov stettle1@msu.edu
Mengxia Sun Chemistry Jian Hu sunmeng3@msu.edu
Aiko Turmo BMB Robert Hausinger turmoaik@msu.edu
Jiaojiao Wang Chemistry Heedeok Hong wangj232@msu.edu
Robert Wolfe Chemistry David Weliky wolfero3@msu.edu
Jiaqi Yao Chemistry Heedeok Hong yaojiaq1@msu.edu
Yijin Zhang Chemistry David Weliky zhan1128@msu.edu